Oklahoma school safety

School mapping requirements & grants in Oklahoma

Yes. Oklahoma's Alyssa's Law (HB 4073, 70 O.S. 5-149.4) has required every district since the 2024-2025 school year to run an approved mobile panic alert system that delivers floor plans, caller location, and incident data to responders and integrates with 911.

Oklahoma's Alyssa's Law requires every school district, starting in the 2024-25 school year, to use an approved mobile panic alert system that gives first responders floor plans, caller location, and other situational information during a 911 call. It is a panic-alert mandate that includes a floor-plan/incident-data-to-responders requirement; it does not specify a separate standalone digital-mapping data standard.[1]

Why this matters in Oklahoma

Why do Oklahoma schools need responder-ready maps now?

Alyssa's Law has required every Oklahoma district since the 2024-2025 school year to feed responders floor plans and caller location the instant a 911 call connects, but the mandate is only as good as the building data behind it. Ark does not sell panic alarms; it builds the accurate live 3D twin those systems depend on, captured in a single scan so responders pull a current campus view, not a stale architect's drawing.

The mandate

What does Oklahoma law require?

Law
Alyssa's Law (HB 4073)[2]
Statute
70 O.S. § 5-149.4[2]
Compliance
July 1, 2024 (effective date); requirement applies beginning with the 2024-2025 school year[1]

What schools must provide: Beginning with the 2024-2025 school year, every Oklahoma school district must implement a mobile panic alert system from a State Board of Education-approved vendor list. At minimum the approved system must: (1) automatically alert designated school personnel when an on-site emergency response is initiated (smartphone app, phone call, text, or other technology); (2) PROVIDE EMERGENCY RESPONDERS WITH FLOOR PLANS, CALLER LOCATION, AND OTHER INFORMATION to assist them during a 9-1-1 call; (3) integrate designated school personnel with emergency responders for real-time situational updates; connect emergency-service technologies for real-time coordination among multiple first-responder agencies; and integrate with public safety answering point (PSAP / 911) infrastructure to transmit 9-1-1 calls and mobile activations. The statute mandates the floor-plan/location data delivery to responders but does not prescribe a specific data format, file standard, or interoperability spec beyond PSAP integration.[1]

Funding

What grants help Oklahoma schools pay for mapping?

Oklahoma districts often combine state and federal programs to fund first-responder mapping, AI threat detection, and emergency communications. We list only currently open or recurring programs; amounts and deadlines change, so confirm each at its official source before applying.

Oklahoma state programs

Oklahoma School and Campus Safety and Security State Grant Program (funded via the School Security Revolving Fund)Annual
Public, private, technology center, and higher-education institutions. Applicant must hold a Unique Entity Identifier (UEI) from SAM.gov and must have completed a Risk and Vulnerability Assessment conducted by the Oklahoma School Security Institute (OSSI) or a nationally qualified assessor, and agree to spend funds on assessment recommendations and/or behavioral threat assessment training. Allowable costs include cameras, gates, lighting, locks, doors, windows, security geofencing, entry/access control hardware, interoperable communications equipment, ballistic film, and ballistic storm shelters.
Recurring program, confirm the current cycle at the source[3]

Federal programs (available nationwide)

COPS School Violence Prevention Program (SVPP)Closed
Funding FY26: up to $73,000,000 total available; maximum federal share of $500,000 per award; approximately 200 awards anticipated; 36-month period of performance starting October 1, 2026. A local cash match of at least 25 percent is required unless a waiver is requested and approved. Approximately $1,000,000 was reserved for microgrants of up to $100,000 for rural, tribal, and low-resourced school districts. These are the closed FY26 figures, not a forecast for FY27.
Funds school security technology and equipment, including systems that speed law-enforcement notification during an emergency. (U.S. Department of Justice - Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS Office))
Most recent cycle closed. Confirm the next cycle at the official source.Listing: 16.710Full program details[4]
STOP School Violence Program (BJA) - Students, Teachers, and Officers Preventing School ViolenceClosed
Funding FY25 solicitation (the most recent on record): award ceiling $2,000,000, award floor $0, 79 awards anticipated. UNVERIFIED: the total program funding figure and the Category 1 / Category 2 split. The Grants.gov synopsis records total program funding as $2,000,000 against 79 awards at a $2,000,000 ceiling, which is internally inconsistent and appears to be a data-entry artefact, and the previously published ~$83,000,000 total and category breakdown could not be re-confirmed on a primary source in this pass. Treat the per-award ceiling as the reliable figure.
Funds evidence-based violence prevention: threat assessment, anonymous reporting, and law-enforcement coordination (cannot fund cameras, locks, or fencing). (U.S. Department of Justice - Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA), Office of Justice Programs)
Most recent cycle closed. Confirm the next cycle at the official source.Listing: 16.839Full program details[5]
Project SERV (School Emergency Response to Violence)Rolling
Funding Awards are sized to the incident and vary widely; there is no published per-award cap and no match requirement. The ten published FY2026 awards range from $25,434 (Lower Kuskokwim School District, AK) to $439,630 (Anchorage School District, AK). FY2025 awards ranged from $12,989 to $1,252,000. Two tiers exist, both at the Secretary's discretion and subject to appropriations: Immediate Services (emergency short-term assistance) and Extended Services (longer recovery).
Funds short-term recovery services, including security measures, after a school experiences a violent or traumatic event. (U.S. Department of Education - Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE), Safe and Supportive Schools)
Deadline: No fixed deadline, event-driven. LEAs and IHEs apply on a rolling basis after a qualifying traumatic event by contacting the Department of Education. The program now lists separate contacts for school-violence SERV and natural-disaster SERV; get the current contact from the official program page rather than a cached address.Listing: 84.184SFull program details[6]

See full details on each federal funding program, including eligibility, deadlines, and how each can apply to responder-ready mapping.

How schools comply

How do Oklahoma schools go from paper plans to a map responders can actually use?

The mandate's panic-alert system carries the legal duty, but it is only as useful as the floor plans and campus data feeding responders the moment a 911 call connects. Ark does not sell panic alarms; it builds the accurate live 3D digital twin behind that requirement from a single-day LiDAR and drone scan, delivered through RapidSOS to the 911 centers responders already use. Static PDFs go stale the moment a building changes, and they cannot be shared live with arriving units.

Ark Strategic builds a live 3D digital twin of a campus from a LiDAR and drone scan, often completed in a single day though larger campuses can take longer, with every room, exit, utility shutoff, AED, and access point labeled. Responders reach it two ways, neither of which requires anything new to install: through RapidSOS, the platform already connected to the vast majority of US 911 centers, or in any web browser, since the twin runs in the cloud. Either way, your 911 center and on-scene units see the campus inside tools they already have.

A flat floor plan tells responders where the walls are. A digital twin shows them where to go. The platform and setup are bundled into one deployment, often grant-funded, so there is no separate software line item for the district. See how the K-12 platform works.

FAQ

What else do Oklahoma districts ask about school mapping?

Does Oklahoma require school safety mapping?
Yes. Oklahoma's Alyssa's Law (HB 4073, 70 O.S. 5-149.4) has required every district since the 2024-2025 school year to run an approved mobile panic alert system that delivers floor plans, caller location, and incident data to responders and integrates with 911. Oklahoma's Alyssa's Law requires every school district, starting in the 2024-25 school year, to use an approved mobile panic alert system that gives first responders floor plans, caller location, and other situational information during a 911 call. It is a panic-alert mandate that includes a floor-plan/incident-data-to-responders requirement; it does not specify a separate standalone digital-mapping data standard.
What does Alyssa's Law (HB 4073) require?
Beginning with the 2024-2025 school year, every Oklahoma school district must implement a mobile panic alert system from a State Board of Education-approved vendor list. At minimum the approved system must: (1) automatically alert designated school personnel when an on-site emergency response is initiated (smartphone app, phone call, text, or other technology); (2) PROVIDE EMERGENCY RESPONDERS WITH FLOOR PLANS, CALLER LOCATION, AND OTHER INFORMATION to assist them during a 9-1-1 call; (3) integrate designated school personnel with emergency responders for real-time situational updates; connect emergency-service technologies for real-time coordination among multiple first-responder agencies; and integrate with public safety answering point (PSAP / 911) infrastructure to transmit 9-1-1 calls and mobile activations. The statute mandates the floor-plan/location data delivery to responders but does not prescribe a specific data format, file standard, or interoperability spec beyond PSAP integration.
When must Oklahoma schools comply?
July 1, 2024 (effective date); requirement applies beginning with the 2024-2025 school year. Alyssa's Law (HB 4073). Districts should confirm current timelines with their state education agency.
What grants help Oklahoma schools pay for safety mapping?
Oklahoma districts may be eligible for programs including Oklahoma School and Campus Safety and Security State Grant Program (funded via the School Security Revolving Fund), Project SERV (School Emergency Response to Violence). Eligibility, amounts, and deadlines vary by program and should be confirmed at each program's official source.
What is critical incident mapping?
Critical incident mapping is the practice of giving first responders accurate, current digital maps of a building, with rooms, exits, utility shutoffs, AEDs, and access points labeled and shareable in real time, so police, fire, and EMS can navigate an unfamiliar campus during an emergency.

New to the terms? See the school safety mapping glossary for plain-language, sourced definitions, or the national FAQ for the questions districts ask most.

Sources

Where does every claim on this page come from?

We do not ask you to take our word for any of this. Each numbered citation above links to its primary government source below, with the date we last verified it. Programs and deadlines change, so confirm current rules at the source. How we verify.

  1. Oklahoma Statutes Title 70 § 5-149.4 (Alyssa's Law) / Enrolled HB 4073, Oklahoma Legislature verified 2026-06-23
  2. Oklahoma Statutes Title 70 § 5-149.4 (Alyssa's Law) / Enrolled HB 4073, Oklahoma Legislature verified 2026-06-23
  3. Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management & Homeland Security (ODEMHS) - Grants verified 2026-06-23
  4. COPS Office - School Violence Prevention Program (official program page) verified 2026-09-01
  5. Bureau of Justice Assistance - Available Funding (current open opportunities listing) verified 2026-09-01
  6. U.S. Department of Education - Project SERV (official program page) verified 2026-09-01
Compare across state lines

What do the states bordering Oklahoma require?

School safety mapping varies by state line. See where the states next door stand.

See how the rest of the South region compares on school safety mapping.

Free brief

Want the Oklahoma brief on one page?

A printable summary of Oklahoma’s mapping mandate, the grants that fund it, the buyer-side standard, and a district readiness checklist. Built to forward to your board.

  • Mandate status and key deadlines
  • State and federal grants that pay for it
  • Readiness checklist, every claim cited

Get the Oklahoma brief

The Oklahoma mandate status, the grants that fund mapping, and the readiness checklist, in one short brief you can forward to your board. Enter your work email and it is yours.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. We never share your details.

Which Oklahoma grants does your district actually qualify for?

A free 15-minute review of how your district can meet Alyssa's Law (HB 4073) and which Oklahoma grants will pay for it.

  • First responder pre-registration included
  • One scan, one school day, zero disruption to classes
  • Grant guidance for Oklahoma districts
Free Grant & Readiness Review
See which Oklahoma mapping grants your district qualifies for. 15 minutes, no commitment.

No commitment · Grant funding available for many districts